Idaho Laws

The sale and distribution of alcoholic beverages in Idaho is regulated by:

State of Idaho seal

Alcohol Beverage Control Bureau
700 South Stratford Drive STE 115
Meridian, ID 83642

Access to the full Idaho ABC Code can be found here:  

Uniform Pricing

No volume discounts

Wine and Beer tasting

Wine tasting is permitted in retail accounts. As of July 1, 2014 beer tasting is permitted in retail accounts.

Supplier Licensing

Out-of-State Beer Suppliers must obtain a Certificate of Approval license from the Alcohol Beverage Control Division each year, at a cost of $100/yr. Wine Suppliers aren’t required to have a certificate or license to supply wine or low-proof liquors.

Price Posting

Idaho is a price posting state. The Alcohol Beverage Control Division requires that prices from the wholesaler to the retailer of all products that fall under the beer and wine laws, be posted on the Division price posting website. A link to this site is found on their website at . Price changes must be received, on the price posting website, no later than 10 days prior to the last day of the filing calendar month, becoming effective on the first day of the succeeding calendar month. If a posted price is lowered, that price may not be changed again, either up or down, for the next six (6) months. See Idaho Codes 23-1029 & 23-1329 for more details on price posting.

Aid to Retailers

Idaho has a Comprehensive Aid to Retailer section in its alcoholic beverage code. Among the regulations that are specific to Idaho and/or exceed the Federal requirements of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms is the prohibition against providing retailers with wine lists, exterior signs, credit, equipment, refrigeration, uniforms, etc.